+1

Supercharger Rebuild Questions

I have been doing a lot of reading on the supercharger ceramic washer problems and the general consensus is rebuild the supercharger ASAP with an OEM rebuild kit and metal washers.

I'm surprised there is no "How to rebuild your supercharger" sticky. With the correct tools is this something the average shade tree mechanic can do or should this be left to the professionals ? I'm no professional mechanic but I do consider my abilities above average for a weekend garage warrior. I have rebuilt several 2 stroke Rotax engines, rebuilt carbs etc and do all my own maintenance, my two stoke skis have only been to the dealer for key reprogramming.

There might be a new to me 05 GTX SC in the garage soon and the supercharger is coming off and getting rebuilt I'm debating whether to do this myself or send it to Jerry. The labour cost is not a problem I just like to do things myself if possible.

This is how I run a jetski shop in the desert nmpeter's Avatar
    +1
    actually there is plenty of do it yourself info here..but I still send mine to jerry..just because.

You'll have to make an investment in some specialized tools first off, but no doubt you can pull the job off if you've rebuilt a couple of motors.

secondly there is no doubt some specialized mechanical skills to get it all together..while the learning curve is short... for what Jerry is charging, I can barely justify the risk of doing it myself and snookering something due to inexperience/interruptions

a problem supercharger rebuild can cost a great deal of time and money, with this resource all I have to do is pack it up and send it off. I make a good buck on the removal and installation and resetting the supercharger nag message.

There are certain things I leave to others, even though I can certainly pull it off myself.

A good example...