Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1

    Possible to Reset Hours on seadoo??

    I bought a 2007 Sea Doo GTX 155, with only 26 hours. paid 5k for

    The guy I bought it from says he Put only 7 hours on it, and had it for 2 years. and said he doesnt believe himself that it has only 26 hours.

    The condition of the skii isnt too bad just defeinly looks like it has way more hours on it, there is saltwater corrosion near the impeller base, stiching in seat is loose. , dents, few scrathes though out the ski.

    Just wondering if it is as easy as buying a brand new cluster to reset the hours or is it not likely?


  2. #2
    tick.. tick.. RXPteamtimebomb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    726
    +1
    13
    Yes, buying a new cluster would.. Hours are also stored on the ecu.. So if they are different, you would know, but the ecu could have been replaced too

  3. #3
    Water4fire's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    New Braunfels TX.
    Posts
    10,059
    +1
    790
    Looks are not everything. People treat toys like shit/junk and do not take care of them, I just looked at a tx260 with 38 hours on it and it was trashed. It looked to have several hundred hours as they didn't care.

  4. #4
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    The Atl
    Posts
    3,561
    +1
    578
    No buying a cluster wont change the hours...The hours are in the ECU and when you "marry" a new cluster, it shows the original hours for the ski

  5. #5
    SLASHER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Australia, Perth WA
    Posts
    3,263
    +1
    474
    That can't be 100% right ...

    Swaped a dash on a friends ski as the old one was playing up , it went From 120 hr to 278 hrs on the used replacement dash ...

    This was on a 07 RXP RIVA ECU

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Tiny View Post
    No buying a cluster wont change the hours...The hours are in the ECU and when you "marry" a new cluster, it shows the original hours for the ski
    This is not true.....marrying only shares the ID number between ECU and Cluster for security purposes, it does not copy the hours from ECU to cluster.

  7. #7
    SLASHER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Australia, Perth WA
    Posts
    3,263
    +1
    474
    Quote Originally Posted by Sea Dood View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Tiny View Post
    No buying a cluster wont change the hours...The hours are in the ECU and when you "marry" a new cluster, it shows the original hours for the ski
    This is not true.....marrying only shares the ID number between ECU and Cluster for security purposes, it does not copy the hours from ECU to cluster.

    That's sounds right ....

  8. #8
    ADAMBOMB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Sunrise,Florida
    Posts
    4,723
    +1
    196
    Quote Originally Posted by Sea Dood View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Tiny View Post
    No buying a cluster wont change the hours...The hours are in the ECU and when you "marry" a new cluster, it shows the original hours for the ski
    This is not true.....marrying only shares the ID number between ECU and Cluster for security purposes, it does not copy the hours from ECU to cluster.
    That is correct. Cluster stores its own hours.

  9. #9
    tick.. tick.. RXPteamtimebomb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    726
    +1
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by RXPteamtimebomb View Post
    Yes, buying a new cluster would.. Hours are also stored on the ecu.. So if they are different, you would know, but the ecu could have been replaced too
    I meant that changing cluster would not reset hours to 0 unless it was new but would be whatever that cluster has on it and that hours are stored in ecu as well.. And yes a ski with 26 hours could look like it has 826 hours on it as most do not care for their skis like people on this site

  10. #10
    pass1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Gatineau, Canada
    Posts
    423
    +1
    5
    I can confirm that hours are NOT stored in the ECU, I just remplaced mine and it still shows that same hours than before the ecu swap.
    So CLUSTER is the one that stores hours.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Is the mfd suppose to reset itself on hours of use?
    By lagolake1 in forum Polaris Open Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-03-2010, 09:51 PM
  2. How to find hours on a ski
    By jeeprunnr in forum Yamaha Old School Skis
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-13-2008, 09:03 PM
  3. close to 90 hours on my 15f should i adjust the valves?
    By wave15stx in forum Kawasaki PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-04-2008, 04:12 PM
  4. Is there a way to view hours on a engineless ski?
    By Jolly Roger in forum Yamaha How To & FAQs
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-14-2007, 08:40 AM
  5. reset hours on 2000 RX
    By downunder in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-10-2007, 11:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •