Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    +1

Florida dirt bike rider....getting a ski!

OK......awesome forum. Been a member for a bit. I do have a small sea doo jet boat and a large yamaha jet boat(232 limited) so not totally new to the jet propulsion.

I have never had a ski. Only rented one in key west last year. It was great, loved it, water was mild chop, didn't bother me at all. Because of my dirt bike background I stood up the whole time, never sat, just like I do on my bike(I ride alot of whoops), had it pinned most of the time. It was a yamaha ski, don't know the model, but from my current reading guessing it was a vx of some sort.

I am on a few forums like most of you all. I see some great advice and some not so great.....normally I have enough experience in the sport to tell the difference, but here I am a noob. I could tell you the best motorcycle tire for florida sand but have no clue as to best life jacket, etc.

I'm going to ski in the ocean, st pete, clearwater, egmont key areas. Reading about all the musclecrafts, different hulls, engines, weights......really cool stuff! Do I really want a hull that knifes through the water and a heavy ski? I kinda like the idea of small jumps off every wave....with a lighter weight ski! My mind is spinning......kawi 300, seadoo gtr or rpx, yamaha sho or vxr.......all great rides I'm sure.

On the bike I like riding hard for 2 hours rather than riding soft for 4 hours.....I'm sure I will feel the same way on the ski.

Is the lighter ski more fun than the heavier ski???

Formerly Ultra250 TN Aquaholic6801's Avatar
    +1
    Best bet is to find a Dealer that will let you test drive several different skis....Only you know what you like....

+1