Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

96 Polaris SLTX charging issues

I'm trying to fix a friends SLTX with 1050, it doesn't seem to be charging the battery at all. Does it sound like I need the update kit#2873091? I'm not very experienced with a multimeter, but I followed the instructions with the one thread on how to check it using an ohm meter and how to check the hall sensors. However I'm not 100% sure I was doing it right because the reading on my multimeter never changed. The only time it changed at all was when I had the 9v battery hooked up to the stator wires and I was checking the hall sensor by rotating the motor slowly. When I first touched the probe to a stator wire it would briefly spike, but when I was rotating the motor it didn't change at all.

I did a couple more tests today, as per the manual and found that the alternator is putting out 20-25 VAC which the manual says it's supposed to be. However, when I check the DCV at the battery while it's running it is only at 12V, not the 14.5 that the manual states. Does this mean the regulator/rectifier is bad?

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Quote Originally Posted by hink320 View Post
    I did a couple more tests today, as per the manual and found that the alternator is putting out 20-25 VAC which the manual says it's supposed to be. However, when I check the DCV at the battery while it's running it is only at 12V, not the 14.5 that the manual states. Does this mean the regulator/rectifier is bad?
    LR voltage regulator module is probably the cause.

Verify the LR module is properly hooked up and actually grounded. If all LR wire connections are good, including to the stator Yellow wire, and the stator Red/Purple wire is connected to battery power, then replace the LR module.

Thanks, where's the best place to get one of the LR modules?

+1
    See the Parts Sources links from my signature

+1
    I should have good used one, PM me if interested....