Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Power flat at 3900 rpm /jumps to 4600 rpm

Hello
    first of all i am new here and i am an absolutely newbie at jet ski's. Please excuse my english but i am from germany and i just live right now in USA.
    So i bought a Polaris SLT 780 (1996) and it runs good so far. The MFD shows about 45mph max speed. So i have the typically POLARIS FUEL issue that i have a full tank but the MFD shows only one line and i get the flashing light. I read a lot about this here and i just wonder that my Jet Ski doesnt change to the LIMP MODE but i have the problem that if i speed up i have a kind of power loss/flat. I mean when i speed up and i reach about 3900 rpm the jet ski doesnt speed up more even if i raise the throttle and if i raise it more i get suddenly a kind of powerboost and the rpm jumps to the 4500-4600 range and i can speed up till 6400 rpm.

In the picture you can see that the jetski doesnt have the original exhaust and airfilter. Could that cause the problem. The Airfilter doesnt have any inlay i am not sure if it is correct but it looks like because you cant open it.

I really would appreciate any help

Markus

El Paso
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	44 
Size:	82.8 KB 
ID:	301026  

Banned User
    +1
    Its not actually a problem at all. Most of these 2 strokes do not have a "smooth" powerband, and there is a pronounced "hit" around 4500 where the engine "gets on the pipe" and produces more power. This is more pronounced on some engines, the 780 being one of them. You should be getting 6500-6600 peak RPM.

Hi Bryan,