Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Joplin, Missouri, United States
    Posts
    32

    Riva scom 300x, no improvements?

    All,

    i installed the riva scom on my 300x, but I rode it today, no improvements at all, does anyone have the same problem? Am I doing something wrong? Thanks!


  2. #2
    nicjak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Warragul, Downunder
    Posts
    7,794
    +1
    625
    obviuosly something wrong check all and i mean all your wiring connections..

  3. #3
    ULTRA3N's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    338
    +1
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by hlcvd View Post
    All,

    i installed the riva scom on my 300x, but I rode it today, no improvements at all, does anyone have the same problem? Am I doing something wrong? Thanks!
    are you looking at your speedo or gps?

  4. #4
    nicjak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Warragul, Downunder
    Posts
    7,794
    +1
    625
    very good point as the speedo will not change, only way to tell is with a gps, or not feeling that brake you were feeling once reaching top speed.

    Quote Originally Posted by ULTRA3N View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by hlcvd View Post
    All,

    i installed the riva scom on my 300x, but I rode it today, no improvements at all, does anyone have the same problem? Am I doing something wrong? Thanks!
    are you looking at your speedo or gps?

  5. #5
    Self Confessed Day Dreamer toomanytoys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,932
    +1
    151
    Or what boost and RPM you are now getting at sustained full throttle

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Joplin, Missouri, United States
    Posts
    32
    I was looking at speedo, and also compared with another seasoo that topped out at lower 70's. I was slowly falling behind, not sure by how much. RPM still slightly under 8000. I should be able to tell better after today's riding, comparing with a stock Yamaha Which tops at the exact same speed as me before my scom. I would think if I wired it wrong, I would get some kind of code when starting, or not starting at all. But everything worked like expected, except the speed reading.

    I will update you later today after my 120 mi ride

  7. #7
    Banned User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    LA/oc
    Posts
    3,911
    +1
    129
    If your in 8000 range it's working.

  8. #8
    Self Confessed Day Dreamer toomanytoys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,932
    +1
    151
    You should be quicker than the RXP-X unless he has a tune. It won't be by much, 1-2 MPH if he has a good stock ski.

  9. #9
    ULTRA3N's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    338
    +1
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by hlcvd View Post
    I was looking at speedo, and also compared with another seasoo that topped out at lower 70's. I was slowly falling behind, not sure by how much. RPM still slightly under 8000. I should be able to tell better after today's riding, comparing with a stock Yamaha Which tops at the exact same speed as me before my scom. I would think if I wired it wrong, I would get some kind of code when starting, or not starting at all. But everything worked like expected, except the speed reading.

    I will update you later today after my 120 mi ride
    If you were trying to tell if theres an improvement by looking at the speedo then theres the problem the speedo will only ever show 67mph/108kmph max. If you are going 72mph it will still show 67mph, thats how its programmed. Only way to tell if its working is to gps the ski (if you don't have one but have a smart phone download a gps speed app), or look at your rpms at WOT, which you have found to be a bit less then 8000 which is the correct range for a ski running with a scom, if its not working then your rpms at WOT should be at max 7490-7510 which is what skis without a scom run.

    Chad

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Joplin, Missouri, United States
    Posts
    32
    I rode it today, GPS read 69, I'm rough lake water. Haven't checked RPM, but I can slowly pull away from a stock FX SHO

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 300X with Riva SCOM takeoff
    By Skaneateles 08 Ultra 250 in forum Kawasaki PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-12-2013, 01:03 PM
  2. Does Anyone Know What The Frequency Output (Speed) Is From The Riva SCOM For 300X?
    By Speed Jones in forum Kawasaki PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 03-30-2012, 07:36 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-05-2011, 07:35 PM
  4. FS FS: Riva SCOM for Kawi 300 BNIB
    By Chris288 in forum Kawasaki Classifieds
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-22-2011, 12:21 PM
  5. Installing Riva Rear Air.... No Snap Sound??????
    By joeg in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-21-2007, 06:24 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •