Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

sl750 electrical gremlins after engine rebuild

So i just finished up the rebuild of my 94 sl750 after it blew a crank bearing. I doubled checked every thing, stuck a hose on it, and it fired and ran like clock work on the trailer for about 2 minutes on the hose. I let it cool for a little bit, cleaned the excess oil off the plugs, went to restart it and it had no power to the starter or display. I know the battery is atleast pumping 12.xx v as it is brand new, and my bildge pump will still run. I started playing with the cables and when i wiggled the the starter wire it fired off and ran like normal again, but as soon as i shut it off it would not turn over again without playing with the cable. I got it to start again and then it just died abruptly. The engine still spins free so i know its not the engine locking up, but now no matter what i do it wont turn over, and the display wont come alive. The solenoid/relay for the starter wont even click.

I opened the box up and rechecked my connections and all is ok.

I was getting ready to pull the exhaust and check the starter cable to make sure i tightened it but it hit me (unless im misunderstanding how this setup works) that the starter cable should not have any affect on the display or the solenoid not hitting.

if any one could point me in the right direction to start testing that would be great.

btw neither the fuse or breaker are popped

also, during reasembaly i dropped the e-box on the battery and it did arc between the box and battery. However, this was before i tried starting it for the first time and the ski did run (although with these problems) after the fact.

+1
    Check all negative cable and ground wire connections.
    Last edited by Tony; 05-19-2013 at 12:58 PM.

Banned User
    +1