Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Need Help with 1996 SL 780

Hi I am new to owning a PWC and new to this forum. First of all thanks for a great site !

I have recently purchased a 1996 SL780 with the blue fuji motor. I have been reading several forums on here and conducting searches prior to posting this and am not able to rectify my problem. So I will try to explain what is occurring the best I can.

The ski will fire up and run but not idle real well. Only the Mag cylinder is getting hot whether it's ran on the hose or in the water. It is extremely underpowered and will not rev up very much. It appears to be mainly be running on the MAG cylinder. There is no limp mode red flashing on the display but note the display is in poor condition with only partial numbers and lines being displayed. It does continue to show LOWPR for a small period of time then switch back to the selected mode then return to LOWPR on a continued cycle of this.

I have taken advice from the suggestions offered on this site and have done the following.

Compression test is at around 145 psi across all 3 Cylinders. ( the ski has had a complete short block and all cylinders etc replaced in 2005 and I have the bill from the marina the guy used to ensure this was done ).

I went throurgh all the fuel lines to ensure no blockage and then pulled apart the fuel pump and cleaned it but did not appear dirty. I reassembled the pump and cranked the motor to ensure it was pumping fuel to all 3 carbs. It was but doesn't seem to be a very high pressure, but not sure if it should be.

I dissasembled all the carbs completly cleaned them including the jets screens etc. They had all appeared to be extremely clean as well.

I have charged the battery and the LOWPR does not go away and best that I can see on Volt mode it is showing 0.2v.

I completely dissasembled the circut board and cleaned all contacts as a few appeared to have a small amount of corrosion starting then diectric greased all terminals and reconnected.