Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

+1

2006 RXP With Bad Motor

Hey Everyone,

I bought an 06 RXP with 200hrs this past weekend with the understanding it did not run. I got it home and checked the oil only to find a dry dipstick. I added 4-5 quarts of oil and it looks like every bit ended up in the hull. I'm assuming it is going to need a replacement(remanufactured) engine and I wanted some input. I was an automotive technician during college and feel that I can probably handle the install with the help of my friends.

My concerns are as follows:

1) Where should I get the motor? I like the idea of an SBT but I know some people are negative towards them.

2) Aside from the supercharger washers, are there any items I should change/repair while I have it apart?

Thank You,

Will

I bought my OEM seadoo longblock (assembled longblock) from my local seadoo dealer about 4yrs ago. It cost me about $4k (give or take just a couple hundred). The manufacturer gave me $500 back out of my $1k core charge. I was shocked, considering my longblock was destroyed after throwing a rod clean through the case and bitching the head up too. I've been beating the shit out of my RXP for the past 190+hrs (boat has 270ish hours today) with this 2nd motor - using all of my mods since the very day the dealer installed new motor + mods for me Running mid 70s to low 80s for the entire 190hrs here in the desert heat.

Nothin' better than Doo'in it! BigDaddyRXP's Avatar
    +1
    If you plan to keep the ski, buy a long block from BRP.

If you just want to flip the ski, toss in an SBT engine.... and sell it asap!

Just my 02

Quote Originally Posted by wsullivan View Post
    Hey Everyone,