Newbie here MSX 140 buying advice

Hello all Newbie here

I have never ridin a Jetski thinking of buying a couple of of 2003 MSX 140 I am mechanically inclined I have a garage and tools.

can anyone tell me what to look for before I buy them? or should I buy them? what do I need to look for? what needs to be done right away?

one has 100 hours the other has 200+ hours. Do they have heat issues? I know Polaris does not make them anymore.

Any help appreciated.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    near Toronto, Canada

You will need to do a thorough 'marine survey' of each machine.

Also review the service and maintenance history and enquire what the previous owner considered 'sufficient maintenance'.

200 hours is getting up there, unless the engine has been rebuilt.

If the engine has never been rebuilt, assume that at some point in the not too distant future it will require a rebuild. My own MSX 140 engine had a bearing failure last summer at about 180 hours. No one can say for sure how long a particular engine might last. It could run for 400 hours, it could run for 30 minutes and fail.

If either engine has been rebuilt, find out who did the rebuild, or how it was done. These engines have Nikasil cylinders, not the typical iron sleeves of other engines. Some rebuilders insert iron sleeves because it is cheaper that way. I had my own cylinders Nikasil replated to stock specifications.

See my signature links for some useful info and common maintenance items. The MSX 140 has a Ficht fuel injection system, so ignore all the carburetor info and pay attention to the Ficht section.

The jet pump and some other stuff is common across all Polaris watercraft, but there are some MSX specific aspects, like the through-hull bearing carrier. Recommended rebuild initial on the carrier is every 100 hours, give or take.