Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

94 SLT 750 No Spark

I have been reading alot of the threads on here and they are very infomative. You guys really know your stuff so i joined to see if you could help. I have never worked on Polaris ski's (i have another brand). A friend of mine asked me to look at her 94 SLT 750 that was not getting any spark. It had been sitting for 2 years at her parents and ran fine when put away. I pulled the front plug and got very week intermittent spark and nothing on the other 2 cylinders. New NGK plugs and same result. I did all the ohm tests you guys have suggested in other threads and have listed the results below. The lanyard is in. All the grounds are attached and ohm out as good. I am a master electrician so I know how to do ohm tests. I disconnected the kill switch and still nothing. Switch ohmed out as good. I disconnect the temp sensors and nothing. They ohm out good as well. Box is grounded on both halves. Battery is very strong.

Ohm Test results
    Alternator Coil Red/Purple to Yellow = .6 Ohms
    Trigger Coil white/yellow to black = 208 Ohms
    Pulser Coil Blue/Red to Red/white = 83.8 Ohms
    Exciter Coil Red/white to Green/red = 474 ohms

Ignition Coils
    Primary Black to Black/white = .3 on all 3
    Secondary Black to Secondary Lead 3.3K Ohms on each
    Spark plug cap to lead inside = 5K approx on each

My question is, could it be the flywheel or stator yet even though all the coils ohm out ok? Or is it the CDI box? Since it is not my ski, i would hate for them to spend that kind of money on a CDI box and that not be solution. I also do not want to pull the motor to check the flywheel and stator if it is the CDI. Does anyone have a known working CDI i could try to see if that is the issue? Or can I send the CDI to someone to try in there ski to check it. I am just south of Minneapolis, MN if anyone is in the area and would like to help me out.

Thanks for all the help,
    Randy