Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Post 1999 Polaris SLH 700, no spark

Hey I'm really new to this as well and I see that this is a very old thread, but I thought I'd see if any one was still around to help.

I bought a 1999 Polaris slh 700 last summer, it had been stored indoors for six years and looked brand new inside and out. It ran great all summer then I stored it indoors for the winter, and now it has no spark.

Brand new battery with over 11 volts while cranking, red/purple wires have good voltage, brown wire coming from cdi has 7.5 volts while cranking.

Could anyone tell me what the next thing to check would be to determine why there is no spark?
    Last edited by K447; 06-01-2013 at 09:20 PM.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome

Seems like you have already found and followed some of the diagnostics. If you have not yet, do have a look through my signature links.

The primary suspect would be the ignition system itself. Does the engine have the original ignition system or the update kit installed?
    Last edited by K447; 06-02-2013 at 03:38 PM.

It has the original. I looked all over for an update kit and it turns out to be a discontinued part number. I found one on eBay but the guy wants 800 bucks for it so I just wanted to make sure that was definetely my only option before I bought it, or maybe you know where I could find a reasonably priced update kit. I would pay 400 no problem and just update it either way, but 800 is pretty steep.

Quote Originally Posted by K447 View Post
    Welcome

Seems like you have already found and followed some of the diagnostics. If you have not yet, do have a look through my signature links.

The primary suspect would be the ignition system itself. Does the engine have the original ignition system or the update kit installed?