Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Need help with 2000 Virage 700cc

Hi guys, first time poster here needs advice.
    Friend of mine bought himself this Virage while on vacations in Florida and we have no clue on the history. Original owner started up for him on the trailer to show him that it starts. Brought it home to IL. and now took it out on the water, hardly starts and will nor run pass 10mph. Now he asked me to check it out for him even though I have no experience with these machines but I have pretty good knowledge of 2 cycle dirtbikes and chainsaws.
    first I checked the compression both cylinders at 148-150psi (second cylinder took few more revolutions but ended up at 150). Then I took off and inspected the pump, all clean in nice condition.
    Then I bought Winderosa carb kit and rebuild it. Since original valve spring was 9mm 40gr. I used the same one out of kit and pop-off pressure was right around 20psi with needle arm set at .060" gap from carb base. Idle screw was broked off so I replaced it with same thread screw screw 6mm fine pitch. Reinstalled carb with new gaskets, set the low needle to 2 turns (originaly 2-1/2), cleaned fuel filter, sucked out dirty dark old gas from lines till fresh stuff was coming out and after wile cranking engine started up. Went to connect the water hose and didn't want restart till pull spark plugs out and dry them out (clean/dry them, two sets of new plugs). Every time I pull the plugs out, I can see water/oil brownish mixture coating on them and after cleaning them, it will restart for two seconds and dies out again. I noticed the "mud" deposit on compression gauge fitting and looked in to cylinders with bore scope and you can see water deposits on top of pistons and cylinder walls.
    Is the crankcase full of water maybe from previous owner sinking the hull and selling it right after?