Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

1995 Polaris SL 750 will not start ( I just bought it)

Hello everybody. I am completely new to PWC. Im a pretty good car mechanic. I just bought a 1995 polaris sl 750. It has been sitting for 5 years. I drained the gas and oil put new in and filled the primer with gas or what I was told the primer was. I purchased a new batter filled it with acid and charged it with a trickle charger. I put the new battery in and All I get is a click in the box that is sitting on the battery. It clicks even when the clip is out of the kill switch. Could it be the kill switch or something else. When I bought it the guy used his battery form his pwc and it turned over a few times then he took it off.I only paid 250.00 for it and the trailer so I think I got a great deal if I can only get it started. I have called around here and cannot find anyone to work on it so im stuck with doing this myself. any help would be greatly appreciated. my kids are so excited to get this thing on the water. im tired of driving 2 hours away to camp so I can rent a jet ski.

+1
    Welcome to the Hulk!

Please read up on all of the necessary fuel system and other updates on here.. You really need to get the entire ski updated and in good health, or you wont be able to use it for long.....

As for your question........ It sounds like the starter solenoid is clicking, but the starter motor is not turning. There could be several reasons. Make sure you connected the battery correctly and didn't accidentally reverse the polarity. Make sure the ground cable connection to the motor base plate is intact. The starter motor may be frozen. The starter bendix inside the flywheel housing may be stuck. Can you turn the motor over by hand, by spinning the black plastic drive shaft cover 180 degrees, and turning the coupler? If not, the motor could be locked up, or the jet pump could be locked up. You can try this with the plugs removed to make your life a little easier.