To Buy 2003 & 2004 GTX SC Limited

Hello,

Newbie here, I am strongly considering buying a 2003 & 2004 Sea-Doo GTX Limited. One has 30 hours, the other has 36.6 hours. To my knowledge the only maintenance that has been done are oil changes and new batteries. I have been reading about the Super charger issues with the ceramic washers. Even with the low hours, would it be wise to have both Super chargers rebuilt? Also, are there any differences in the 2003 and 2004 models? I noticed that the washers here only specify '04-'05: http://www.4-tecperformance.com/inde...kvishk9j293ag6

Before buying them what key items should I look for? They have been run in both fresh and salt water. Impeller damage and SC spinning freely? Any other major items to watch out for? I've seen them in person and heard them run (not in water) and they seem to be in great shape - They look almost brand new.

In terms of maintenance, I figure these will need new battery, oil change, spark plug change, and perhaps SC rebuild or metal washer replacement. Any other thoughts?

Also, he's a friend of the family and asking $7,500 for the pair including trailer and extras. That seems like a great deal to me.

Price is ok, but not sure where you are located. I would be concerned about the low hours on the 2004. They had exhaust valve corrosion issues, and seem to have problems when skis sit up for periods of time.

+1
    keep in mind the 03 is non-intercooled(185hp)....think the 04 is the same, but not positive.....i had an 03,was a great ski.

+1
    Have the chargers completely rebuilt.
    Washers and bearings..
    Make sure the washers haven't already broken and fallen into the motor.

Also with that low of hours if they havent been fogged for storage I'd say replace the valves.
    It's no joke because when they sit the valves pit and rust.
    So once you do put a few hours on them the break and total out the motor.
    I've seen this many times.