Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

New Owner 96 polaris sl780 w/ questions???

I am new to Green Hulk and to watercraft in general. I have recently been given a polaris sl780. Not knowing much about them and it being in running condition (meaning that it started and ran) I licensed it and hit the water for 2 days. Ran great and was a lot of fun till the end of the second day. I had finished riding for about an hr and was going back to the ramp and it just bogged down and would just putt at full throttle. I putted back to the dock and loaded up the ski. Out of the water it started up and sounded like it was running fine again. Next day I go down to the water and it is in a no start condition. It cranked and sounded like it wanted to start but never connected. Took ski back home and took it apart a bit. Saw smoke coming from wires going to the stator I assume. The black wire was melted. All the wires around it seem well though. I am not sure what to do at this point and could use advice. I am going to order a clymer manual for it but when googleing for answers this site is all that pops up with any good infoClick image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0626.jpg 
Views:	105 
Size:	113.6 KB 
ID:	303715Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0625.jpg 
Views:	70 
Size:	96.2 KB 
ID:	303716Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0639.jpg 
Views:	66 
Size:	82.9 KB 
ID:	303717. So while waiting for my manual to arrive HELP ME please?

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Well, this IS the premier web resource for Polaris watercraft!

The smoke most likely happened when you let the metal electrical box touch the battery posts. That typically burns up the black wire in the cable going to the stator and adjacent wires can also suffer.

There should be a plastic cover over the battery which is intended to prevent the electrical box from shorting to the battery posts.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1