Why am I still not getting spark?

Alright - so I did my research many times over on the site before posting this. I'm also an engineer and I've been working on PWC engines for years. But I am completely stumped on this one!

2000 GP1200R, rebuilt the motor from crank up, won't start at all. I used to be able to spray some starter fluid in the chambers and it would fire up for a second then die - so I thought it was fuel related. Bypassed the fuel sending unit to see if it would start - nothing. Pulled the return line - fuel was still coming back. So I thought it was maybe the carbs? Rebuilt the carbs - nothing. Compression tested it - little low on #1, #2 and #3 are ok - none low enough to cause a no-run condition.

Now I think it is electrical. I replaced the spark plugs and spark plug wires - still nothing. At this point, I exploded my waterbox because fuel vapors built up - and I must have had at least a weak spark to ignite them. Anyway, I pulled the Electrical box - took the plugs out and stuck them in the plug boots - saw a weak spark on #1. #2 and #3 have nothing. So I pull out the voltimeter and start testing:

• Plug wire resistance SAT
    • Ignition coil resistance SAT
    • CDI Output Peak Voltage is not reading
    So it indicated maybe the CDI is bad. Replaced CDI - still no spark. Maybe it's further down the chain?

• Pickup Coil peak voltage SAT
    • Rectified/Regulator peak voltage was reading low but battery was dead - so I consider it SAT
    • Lighting Coil (Green-Green) peak voltage is not reading correctly
    Ahh, so it's the stator not sending a pulse to the CDI.... Replaced stator - still no spark!

Where else can I go from here?

This is how I run a jetski shop in the desert nmpeter's Avatar
    +1
    1st off..lay off the starter fluid..that's amateur mechanics and you're lucky you didn't get hurt when your wb popped. A little pre mix in a small squirt can is how that has to be done.