Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

1998 Yamaha gp1200

First off I'm new to the pwc world. I purchased a used 1998 Yamaha gp1200 and had it out for the first time on Father's Day 6/16/13 and it ran great all afternoon until the time I was going to take it out of the water. It will not start and it seems that it will not even attempt to fire. I can crank it over and over and nothing. I did check and add gas, turned it to reserve and on, checked and replaced the plugs, checked the mode and start settings and still nothing. I plan to try spraying a small amount of premixed gas in the carbs today and see if it will fire. Any other suggestions I would greatly appreciate.

I do have the problem that other's have posted also about the gauges not working. They ask for the code when I hold down the mode button and I can enter a code that will lock or change to start but that is the only time the gauges show anything. The warning light will flash if I unplug the blue connector.

Any help please, I have grandkid's who want to have water fun!!!
    Last edited by RickT; 06-18-2013 at 07:15 AM. Reason: spelling error

+1
    check to see if it has spark. Also check the compression.

Thanks Cutlass

Quote Originally Posted by Cutlass View Post
    check to see if it has spark. Also check the compression.
    Thanks Cutlass, I will have to pick up a compression guage today and then will check that and for spark. I sure hope it is something simple as this was the first time we had it out. It was running great all afternoon. It sounds like having the kill switch on my motorcycle when trying to start now, cranking without any attempt to fire.

Well looks like I have no spark. Not sure what could have caused that, any ideas to check out????

+1
    The start/stop/lanyard switch and the stator are the most common causes. PM sent