Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

08 rxp-x 255 intercooler hoses blowing off

I am fairly new to jetskis, this is my first ski and its an 08 rxpx 255 with 91 hours. I just had the sc rebuilt, and ski serviced to avoid it needing to be done mid summer at 100 hours. The ski is completely stock and have not had any mechanical issues with the ski to this point. On the first time out after the rebuild while running wot I heard a pop and lost propulsion. I had no warning indicators and motor ran normal but ski would only run about 10mph. Got ski home and found one of the hoses from the intercooler was blown off. Thinking it might have been left loose I checked hose made sure clamp was tight. There was a good amount of grease inside the hose so I cleaned all that out and took ski out for test ride. About 15 minutes in had same symptoms found hose blown off again. This has happened 3 times. Has anyone had this issue ? Any suggestions or advice would be appreciated

Thanks

+1
    Get good clamps not worm clamps

+1
    Use T clamps instead of the worm gear type. I also had issues until I replaced the old hoses. The inside will get soft and just tear away. I replaced mine with silicone but know others have just put new stock hoses on and been OK.

+1
    There is some goop that you can put inside the hose that will help hold it on with a new hose clamp.
    Sorry I forgot the name of it but the stuff I used was orange in color.
    I've also heard of people using hair spray.

I have the exact same ski nod hd the exact same problem a few times. The best thing to do is to redo all the clamping points on the ski. For whatever reason, it seems the simplest things......like good clamps, seems to be common problem. You figure if you buy a new ski for $10k and up, that the hoses wold stay on.