Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: 2001 SUV

2001 SUV

Okay, first off hello, I'm new to this whole scene. Never been a boater until my current girlfriend. She lives at the lake of the Ozarks so I frequent it when I can. Last year her moms waverunner took a crap, a 2001 SUV 1200 and it set for a year. I have just taken possession of it from her and would like to make a project out of it. I am mechanically inclined and my father was a mechanic so the work will be done in house so to speak. The motor is shot, zero compression etc. Have not had a chance to pull it yet to see how bad it is. Idk if shavings got in the crank or anything. So now that you know what I got let me start asking questions to you more knowledgeable people. I'd prefer to rebuild so I wont have a lump cost and I can space parts out. Is it possible to rebuild these engines. Boring them out and shaving the crank down new bearings, pistons, etc etc. I see top end rebuild kits for $400 plus a rebuilt crank for $400. would that do? Could I have mine ground down. I have a background in automotive engines not marine. So all the help is appreciated. As I am doing this rebuild I'd also like to know about mods for it. Better performance? worth it? anything cool or necessary that I should do while its in pieces? Thanks! Chase

+1
    Hi Chase, I am a new member. I have recently purchased a 2001 Yamaha SUV 1200 also. Unfortunately mine is running. Although I have been doing some upgrading and some maintenance. If you do anything to yours please TAG me and post some pictures and a few lines at least on how hard it is to fix, replace or rebuild. I am not mechanically inclined so remember that in your illustrations. Now your questions on the rebuild I can not help, but these guys on here are good. You just have to listen to them! Good luck with your rebuild!!! Post pictures and a few lines on your SUV. Thanks Cary

+1
    Fat, what part of NWGA are you from and where do you ride?

+1