Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Exclamation Help to save my July 4th trip! My Ultra 250X leaks and stalls

I am new to jet skis. I bought a used Ultra 250X as my first one. It's 2007 with a rebuilt motor, and 132 hrs. It worked fine when I took it out the first 3 times, and then the problems started:
    1) It used to get some water in the hull, but I was told it was normal. The last time it got too much water, the engine started choking around 3000-4000 RPM because of that. I took it to the shore and drained the water. The water was warm.
    2) It started to stall at different times, usually not in WOT. It would run for 20-60 seconds and then stop abruptly. The dashboard lights go out. It would restart if I push the key back and push the start button. I think it may or may not be related to the first problem, because it started before I had got too much water in the hull.

I called 7 different repair shops in the Denver area today, and all of them are swamped until after 4ht of July. I planned a trip to a lake for the 4th of July. What can I do myself (I have no experience) to fix it at least for my upcoming holiday trip?

I think I can:
    - change the spark plugs
    - dry it up, and hook it up to the garden hose and see if it leaks inside while running
    - maybe some other simple things

Please advise, I would really appreciate if you help me to save my planned trip!

+1
    You probably have a leaky exhaust... Especially if the water is warm. It's stalling because the hull is filling up with exhaust fumes and water from the exhaust instead of clean air. Back the trailer into the lake (or stick it on the hose) and start the ski and look into the hull. It should be obvious where it's coming from.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by sortsol View Post