Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1

    Change speedometer/tacho display backgrounds?

    Does anyone know where to buy custom backgrounds to the diplay?

    And how to get the glass off /open it up?

    sorry forgot FZR


  2. #2
    powerstroke specialist mikegp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2,529
    +1
    190
    if you open the display it will get ruin. they are factory seal.

  3. #3
    Thanks Mikegp, but what do you mean by factory sealed? Need special tools?
    As I can see that my red backgrounds are attached by two x screws, so from outside it looks like they are changable..

    Can't see backside of my display as it is still mounted in place.

    Anyone got a picture of the backside of the display?

  4. #4
    KamikazeGPR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    1,361
    +1
    99
    The piece with 2 screws is just a cover. The gauge itself is attached with 4 screws you can get to by removing the black cover inside storage compartment. The rear of gauge has 4 screws, that i guess would allow it to be taken apart. I'm sure it is factory sealed against water. rubber gasket or silicone, who knows?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	$T2eC16FHJH!FFmBzO8pkBRjQNKy7W!~~60_57.jpg 
Views:	76 
Size:	60.6 KB 
ID:	305313   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	$T2eC16ZHJI!E9qSO9evfBRjQNniGOQ~~60_57.jpg 
Views:	65 
Size:	58.6 KB 
ID:	305314  

  5. #5
    powerstroke specialist mikegp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2,529
    +1
    190
    Quote Originally Posted by suzuki_gixxer View Post
    Thanks Mikegp, but what do you mean by factory sealed? Need special tools?
    As I can see that my red backgrounds are attached by two x screws, so from outside it looks like they are changable..

    Can't see backside of my display as it is still mounted in place.

    Anyone got a picture of the backside of the display?
    so far every single one i have seen , its glue together by the manufacturer, and its hard to take apart w/o messing it up. and thats a big mess, they are expensive as crap.

  6. #6
    leejax01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Jacksonville
    Posts
    1,161
    +1
    98
    Have heard of some using a Dremel and resealing with silicone, but long term issues like fogging and water intrusion from a poor seal may prove to be more problematic than the modification is worth.

  7. #7
    thanks kamikaze for the pics, might just try to take a closer look at mine first before removing it.

    thanks mikegp, if its velved together from factory I see no idea to start messing with it. My only concern is why they have mounted the two red backgrounds with x screws instead of glue them on which should go faster and be cheaper, unless it meant that you could change them. Are all FZR displays modelyear the same manufacturer/part id?

    thanksleejax01, I see no problem with sealing it once putting it back together, as long as you could open it in a "NO dremmel" way..
    Last edited by suzuki_gixxer; 07-01-2013 at 01:24 AM.

  8. #8
    bryantjopplin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Shreveport, LA
    Posts
    2,436
    +1
    163
    Well what I have done with headlights might be a similar process. Use your oven the heat the display up on low heat so the adhesive loosens up and try it that way. I've never done anything with electronics in it though.

  9. #9
    bryantjopplin, nice thought but I am not willing to risk my electronics by putting it in the oven.

    Any one now if there is any possibility to read out / store / clone the hours into a new display if it gets messed up?

  10. #10
    powerstroke specialist mikegp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2,529
    +1
    190
    Quote Originally Posted by suzuki_gixxer View Post
    bryantjopplin, nice thought but I am not willing to risk my electronics by putting it in the oven.

    Any one now if there is any possibility to read out / store / clone the hours into a new display if it gets messed up?
    nope, once its done , you are done for a new one.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-01-2014, 01:19 PM
  2. Anyway to change data displayed on the dash?
    By rick xp in forum Yamaha ECU Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-23-2011, 05:54 PM
  3. Changing the read outs on the Display
    By greenbrg in forum Polaris PWC Performance
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-06-2009, 10:39 AM
  4. Displays after Oil Change
    By scgolfer88 in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-16-2007, 05:52 PM
  5. How to change gauge's display to metric system
    By BlackJack1 in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-12-2007, 10:21 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •