Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Supercharger not kicking in until about 30 mph???

Hello,
    I have a 2005 Sea Doo GTX Limited, and just had the supercharger rebuilt at about 90 hours at the end of April. Nothing was wrong, and I just did it when I found out about what could happen. The Sea Doo has never given me any trouble, and I have always had it serviced yearly. I did buy it new, by the way, and it's only been in fresh water. Anyways, I used it at the lake on Memorial Weekend after the rebuild and it ran great. This past Saturday, the second time being used since the rebuild, I took it to the lake again, and at first it ran fine. However, it then started to not have the "kick" that it usually does when you fully press the throttle. Normaly, from rest, it takes off like a bat out of $#&&, but now it won't "kick in" until about 30 mph. It seems to me that this might be associated with the supercharger, but I could be wrong, as I am no mechanic. It doesn't really sputter on the way up to 30 mph, but just doesn't have the thrust that it normally does. Right at about 30 mph however, you can feel the thrust kick in. Also, as long as you are going 30 mph or greater, the thrust will kick in when you push the throttle. It only seems to lag when you going less than 30 mph and push the throttle. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I took it to the dealer where I bought it and had the supercharger rebuilt, but would love to hear from you guys before I just accept what they tell me. It will be next week before they even get around to looking at it, with this being a holiday week. Thanks in advance!

David Wilson

+1
    Have you changed the plugs lately???

+1
    Could be crap in the jetpump.

I know that they have been changed, but not sure when last. I usually tell them to do what is needed when I get a yearly service done. Could the plugs change the performance so quickly? It was running great one second, then acting up the next second.

+1