HELP 92 Polaris 650sl water go boom

I had to make a new account tried the reset password but didnt work so this is my new

I just got it out for the first time this season after 3 hours of riding Im on my way back home the machine hit a 2foot wave nothing I havn't hit but when it landed I herd a loud thud and it went dead I tried to fire it up turns over but sounded like I had sucked somethign up but nothing after an hour of paddleing and the police towing me in I get the machine home so heres what I got

My friend that I lent it to didnt put drain plug all the way in I drianed Id say close to 8 full buckets full

im pretty dahm sure it sucked up some water Ive never delt with this as Im new to PWC just last year

the machine will turn over and start but will run for about 3 to 8 seconds but its really ruff and Im hearing rumbleing and the machine vibrates alot then dies

im thinking a bearing I really dont know I can post a video but rather not start it up again and wreck it more

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    near Toronto, Canada
    What was your prior username?

You were riding it with a lot of water inside, correct? And then hit a wave.

If yes, then it sounds like the water got sucked into the engine air intake and hydro-locked the engine. Given the rumbling sounds and rough running you describe now, my guess is that you broke stuff inside the engine.

You can either pull the top off the engine to confirm the damage, or just remove the entire engine from the hull and start planning your engine rebuild or engine replacement project.

A compression test and examining the spark plug tips for damage or metal debris might provide a basic confirmation of internal engine damage.

previous user name was garrykeddy

thanks for the info
    I havent removed the engine cover but did remove the plugs no metal bits or any thing but will remove the engine cover and take pics