Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    +1

How to ride in the Ocean!

After today's little jaunt in the Gulf , I was reminded of the riding style I learned in racing years ago...and I learned from a kid who was barely 16 and riding in an Ocean race off of Daytona beach Florida. He was riding standing up on a Yammy Waveraider and was hopping waves like it was motocross. His style had his body forward and used his legs like shock absorbers..the handlebars were tucked just under his "jewel" sack and it looked he would go over the bars but he did not..he won the race standing up the entire time. I copied him and I have been riding this way for probably 15+ years in the Ocean. The riders name was Dustin Farthing and he still rides that way today...and so do I.

Here's his video, watch and get the jest of what he is explaining on how to ride, it works..it just takes some practice and will keep your from arms from arm pump and shoulders from aching and keep your ski more planted when riding. The reason being..the weight that you carry with the ski when it starts to go up, will cause the ski to pop up higher and thus more pump/hull out of the water..if your legs are being used like shock absorbers and your arms are less tense allowing the ski pop up and down without yor fighting it, it will settle quicker back into the water. You can watch Dustin ,Macc and Nicholas and they "tame" the water by letting their skis do the work. Yes, their skis are locked down but what goes up must come down...if there is less weight going out of the water, the less distance it will fall down to. It's kind of science-in-jetskiing but really it was just a small kid who was not muscle bound, allow the ski to do the work for him...and he became a great champion especially in the Ocean, Dustin owns the Ocean.

Dustin Farthing on riding style:

+1
    That's the way to rip for longer periods of time.

Just nothing like having an older 2 stroke that weighs 1/2 or less than our barges we ride today...

+1