1994 Polaris sl 750 mods

Hi I just bought a 1994 Polaris sl 750 in decent condition and I am guessing it does about 45 mph (because the gps is broken. What are some basic and cheap modifications that I could do to get a higher top speed and acceleration. By the way I am a newbie and only 16 so I know very little about the engines and such in these machines. Any help is appreciated! Thanks

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome

Start here, read up.

Get the basic maintenance done, first and go from there.

Quote Originally Posted by K447 View Post
    Welcome

Start here, read up.

K let me change my question. I had maintenance done but is there any places in around Toronto Canada that do stuff like porting and mods for you?

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by rileyboadway View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by K447 View Post
    Welcome

Start here, read up.

.K let me change my question. I had maintenance done but is there any places in around Toronto Canada that do stuff like porting and mods for you?
    Are you in or near Toronto?

Once you start modifying these things the cost tends to rise quickly. By far the most cost effective way to go faster is to buy a machine with a bigger motor and sell (or keep) the one you have now.

It is entirely possible to tune and tweak for small but potentially noticeable gains. If you are not changing the engine internally then the gains tend to be less dramatic.