Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

question about a 00 gp1200r please help!

Hi guys and gals, Im new to ski world and was hoping someone could help me with a question.
    So my gp1200r lost power in the middle of a ride and the mechanic i talked to said he was pretty sure the cat went bad. I test compression, spark and gas is all good, but the thing wont start now. When it happened i changed the plugs and tried it again, but it was running like crap, slow to get on plain and then maxed at 30 mph at 5000 rpm. After I got it trailered and home I pulled the plugs to check compression and the 1st cylinder closest to the front, the plug had not fired at all. Like I said I have spark, gas and good compression 112- 114 each. Could the cat failing plug the exhaust and make it not fire?
    I'm going to do the Dplate anyway,but was hoping to figure this out!
    One last question. I've been reading about the waveeater clips and I'm not sure if it has them or not, are they easy to do yourself or should a mechanic do this?

Thanks so much for any help!
    Darrin

+1
    Get the d-plate and don't look back..if you're still having problems we can address them after you install the d-plate. Good luck and you'll have help in your future mods on the GH!

Call WFO from the board (713-725-8596) and he can hook you up on d-plates, waveeaters etc..

Welcome to the Greenhulk!

+1
    It's most likely the carbs and its gonna suck when you go through the trouble of taking the exhaust off to put the d plate in just to find out youll have to take it back off again to pull the carbs off.