Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    Prohibido usuario
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Jerry's guest bedroom
    Posts
    3,469
    +1
    2

    For you technology geeks, greatest product ever!!!

    Just got a Slingbox AV the other day since they were on sale at Best Buy. How did I ever make it through the day without this.


  2. #2
    jimboman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    103
    Quote Originally Posted by NCHeel View Post
    Just got a Slingbox AV the other day since they were on sale at Best Buy. How did I ever make it through the day without this.
    Yep, got one for my b-day last year, works awesome. Especially on business trips. Just leave the cable box on and I have direct access to any TV station I want. Pretty cool for a little over $100.

  3. #3
    Red Devil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Chesterfield/Richmond, VA
    Posts
    1,809
    Quote Originally Posted by NCHeel View Post
    Just got a Slingbox AV the other day since they were on sale at Best Buy. How did I ever make it through the day without this.
    So what is this product and what exactly does it do?

  4. #4
    jimboman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    103
    Quote Originally Posted by Red Devil View Post
    So what is this product and what exactly does it do?
    You program a dedicated port into your local network with it, and you can control a cable box. TV and movies will play (with about a 3-5 sec lag) over your computer. Even has a cool desktop remote control that can be used.

    I travel on business quite a bit, and it comes in really handy - especially when traveling to countries with little/no English speaking TV.

    http://www.slingmedia.com/indexa.php

  5. #5
    shhr's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Springfield,TN
    Posts
    2,546
    +1
    311
    and if you have a web enabled cell phone you can watch TV on your phone

  6. #6
    Red Devil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Chesterfield/Richmond, VA
    Posts
    1,809
    Quote Originally Posted by jimboman View Post
    You program a dedicated port into your local network with it, and you can control a cable box. TV and movies will play (with about a 3-5 sec lag) over your computer. Even has a cool desktop remote control that can be used.

    I travel on business quite a bit, and it comes in really handy - especially when traveling to countries with little/no English speaking TV.

    http://www.slingmedia.com/indexa.php
    I just opened the site, thanks. Fricken amazing!! Man, I must really be behind the times. I have never seen or heard of anything like that.

  7. #7
    jimboman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    103
    Quote Originally Posted by Red Devil View Post
    I just opened the site, thanks. Fricken amazing!! Man, I must really be behind the times. I have never seen or heard of anything like that.
    RD, they got 'em at Best Buy for pretty cheap. If you have a local LAN, and can assign specific router jobs (for your router, NOT the DSL/Cable modem), you can set it up in < 1/2 hour.

  8. #8
    qbzonk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Orlando
    Posts
    975
    I've always wanted one of those.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Powhatan, VA
    Posts
    281
    Does it make my ski go faster?

  10. #10
    Red Devil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Chesterfield/Richmond, VA
    Posts
    1,809
    Quote Originally Posted by jimboman View Post
    RD, they got 'em at Best Buy for pretty cheap. If you have a local LAN, and can assign specific router jobs (for your router, NOT the DSL/Cable modem), you can set it up in < 1/2 hour.
    OK, educate me here because I am not that savy with stuff like this. I have a seperate dial up connection that I use as a back up as well as Comcast cable internet and TV as the primary. I use my laptop to wirelessly connect and print. I use a Linksys set up for that. What now?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. For you computer geeks...
    By Danny in forum Open Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-20-2008, 11:19 PM
  2. Rapid (Daniel) this is for you and your XPL 4-tec
    By Water4fire in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-28-2005, 10:16 PM
  3. Mike Trin got a suggestion for you
    By Jeff C in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-26-2005, 09:40 PM
  4. How are your Riva RXP Stage II's running for you?
    By Jarrett in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 47
    Last Post: 10-26-2005, 10:36 AM
  5. How are your Rotax Racing Stage I kits running for you?
    By Jarrett in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-22-2005, 08:14 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •