Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    +1

DFW lakes review

I looked around and did not see any recent information on the lakes around dfw. Since I am new to the sport and lakes in general, seems a useful topic.

here is what little I know:

lake grapevine, small, fun, choppy. Hanging at north beach is fun but have to watch bigger boats getting too close to you and getting into your anchor line. The only ramp I have tried is Katie woods. Nice long ramp for two, not too steep. $5 launch fee. Kind of busy at times, adequate parking unless holiday. No dock able restaurants that I could see.

Eagle Mountain lake, large, fun, glass water in far north end and coves. Put in at Harbor One, very steep, limited parking, $20 launch fee. Both ramp and price much too steep. The is a place to eat there, but no where to tie up near restaurant. Limited loading ramp. I do not recommend this as launch point. The ramp is super steep and slippery, and the fee is ridiculous. Need to find new launch, hoping this thread will help me there. The no wake zone is very long, but the ramp seems very protected against wind if that is important. I saw lots of other ramps to try and several restaurant bar type places to eat.

+1
    Lake lavon

I have launched at Tickey Creek a few times. Four wide free ramp. Cannot compare the lake to any others.

Rasta Mon Condoms We Be Jammin!!!!! TxVirageTx's Avatar
    +1
    the brazos river is excellent to ride when the waters up .last time out its about 5-6 ft down.joe pool is always choppy on the weekends from all the traffic.boat ramps are good.has the oasis restaurant to eat.couple beaches.

+1
    That is useful info, and I will certainly book mark that one.

Still hoping for more here as well. Where do you put in, what is the best ramp at any area lake you have been to or frequent type data. What to avoid, how low is the body of water, etc.

Thanks for the responses so far, let's keep it going. I know we have several active members in this area.