Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Am I nuts?

Lake of the Ozarks - Lake Home

Am I nuts?

First, hi everyone!

I tend to be more of a lurker/reader than an active participant. I am still learning. I have made it far enough that I thought it was worth asking this question now.

I am looking at purchasing my first PWC. I already own a 27' bow rider, and it is great for my family (and me). I can pull tubes with my kids, hold a decent sized group of people and go reasonably fast. I have wanted to buy a PWC though. I have been watching them for a while now. I already have a double PWC lift for one at my place on the lake.

I went to a local boat show and tried to learn as much as I could. I talked to a lot of people, looked at the PWCs and brought home a bunch of literature. I thought the See Doo Wake Board 215hp looked like a good place for me to start. I tend to research things, and I quickly found many posts on how the See Doos tend to end up in the shops far too often. I then found myself looking at the Yamahas. They sound like they are fairly reliable PWCs. The part that bothered me was they kept feeling somewhat boring even with their FX Cruiser High Output (I am probably wrong here, but it is just more of a sense from reading a lot...maybe too much). I liked the reliability, and they seemed like a stable boat (good for the family). My wife isn't wild about getting on one if she thinks she is going to tip over.