Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 42
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    EAST COAST
    Posts
    1,168
    +1
    25

    Cleaning ultra 300x air box!

    So how hard is it to clean the factory air box? I honestly without removing the engine see how you could possibly take it out to clean it..The way its designed to curve down in front of the fuel tank looks impossible to get out without removing a lot of stuff.I took the ECU loose and have a clear open hole there but will it go through that little space? I removed my sc hose today and oil ran out of it not a lot but enough to cause concern of cleaning it out....This is why my RPM`s are down I suspect the black tube running from SC to air box was also saturated with oil,,, Can the airbox be removed without to much difficulty?


  2. #2
    Banned User
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Discovery Bay, CA
    Posts
    3,048
    +1
    336
    IMO if you ask w/o too much difficulty I'd say no. I've done it but its a real pain. It unclips into 2 pieces but yea, not a lot of fun. Maybe if you got the top off and slid over you could accomplish what you want w/o removing it completely

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    EAST COAST
    Posts
    1,168
    +1
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike H View Post
    IMO if you ask w/o too much difficulty I'd say no. I've done it but its a real pain. It unclips into 2 pieces but yea, not a lot of fun. Maybe if you got the top off and slid over you could accomplish what you want w/o removing it completely
    I saw the clips that hold the top on but my arms are not quite long enough! My fear is getting it apart and then not being able to get it back together right.I would prefer one long tube with a big filter on the end of it. may not give any performance but geeeeezzz this air box is a nightmare to get to. Is it even worth cleaning it out?

  4. #4
    Banned User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    LA/oc
    Posts
    3,911
    +1
    129
    There's nothing to clean unless you loose a belt then the screen needs to be cleaned.

  5. #5
    nicjak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Warragul, Downunder
    Posts
    7,794
    +1
    625
    yep you are dreaming that isnt why you have lost rpms. tip the front of the ski up let it sit this way for a day or so then remove the clear tube that has caught the little amount of oil..

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    EAST COAST
    Posts
    1,168
    +1
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by nicjak View Post
    yep you are dreaming that isnt why you have lost rpms. tip the front of the ski up let it sit this way for a day or so then remove the clear tube that has caught the little amount of oil..
    I put it all back stock except for the scom all of the R&D stuff has been removed.now all im doing is checking every possible solution. may just need to pin her wide open for about 30 minutes and blow her out .I had this same issue last year when i changed my oil,then I had the sc clamp slide off the hose!I know of a few others that have had the same issue with rpm and it turned out to be a loose clamp!!! Last time mine did this it was also a clamp,,I showed one of these clamps to a guy today that builds racing/dragster engines with big Sc`s and Turbos and he told me those were the worst taiwan made clamps he had ever seen,, they are what he described as general purpose/ low preasure clamps not something you would want to use on a SC hose. so he hooked me up with these he said these would not leak or come loose.
    Last edited by jeff007; 07-23-2013 at 07:13 PM.

  7. #7
    Banned User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    LA/oc
    Posts
    3,911
    +1
    129
    You can take it out in two pieces but its a Paine in the ass. There just no real benefit unless your chasing every last tenth mph

  8. #8
    Banned User
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    424
    +1
    40
    The stock clamps are really cheap/low quality, constant tension or torque clamps should be used, or at the very least higher quality worm gears (the clamps on the water lines are also junk). However, there should be no reason to clean the air box. I'm running an aftermarket full baffled catch can with reservoir to contain the spew (and high level overflow back to the sump, which I don't ever use, I just drain the reservoir after every ride) and I have zero oil in the IC, airbox tube, sc hose, or anywhere else - makes all the difference.

  9. #9
    nicjak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Warragul, Downunder
    Posts
    7,794
    +1
    625
    maybe its more to do with who tightens them some of us have never ever ever had a problem with loose boost clamps yet some just never can get it right

    Quote Originally Posted by jeff007 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by nicjak View Post
    yep you are dreaming that isnt why you have lost rpms. tip the front of the ski up let it sit this way for a day or so then remove the clear tube that has caught the little amount of oil..
    I put it all back stock except for the scom all of the R&D stuff has been removed.now all im doing is checking every possible solution. may just need to pin her wide open for about 30 minutes and blow her out .I had this same issue last year when i changed my oil,then I had the sc clamp slide off the hose!I know of a few others that have had the same issue with rpm and it turned out to be a loose clamp!!! Last time mine did this it was also a clamp,,I showed one of these clamps to a guy today that builds racing/dragster engines with big Sc`s and Turbos and he told me those were the worst taiwan made clamps he had ever seen,, they are what he described as general purpose/ low preasure clamps not something you would want to use on a SC hose. so he hooked me up with these he said these would not leak or come loose.

  10. #10
    Banned User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    LA/oc
    Posts
    3,911
    +1
    129
    Quote Originally Posted by fcr100098 View Post
    The stock clamps are really cheap/low quality, constant tension or torque clamps should be used, or at the very least higher quality worm gears (the clamps on the water lines are also junk). However, there should be no reason to clean the air box. I'm running an aftermarket full baffled catch can with reservoir to contain the spew (and high level overflow back to the sump, which I don't ever use, I just drain the reservoir after every ride) and I have zero oil in the IC, airbox tube, sc hose, or anywhere else - makes all the difference.
    No more rice is Back eh ?

  11. +1 by:


Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. FS - Parts Gutted ULTRA 300X (No baffles) water box. 200.00 plus shipping
    By Socaloffshore in forum Kawasaki Classifieds
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-03-2014, 11:16 AM
  2. Trim Box ( Ultra 300X )
    By RXP-X 2011 in forum Kawasaki PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-06-2014, 02:55 AM
  3. SOLD 700 carbs off good running ski...very clean w/ air box $80 shipped
    By hardhead in forum Polaris Classifieds
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-22-2013, 04:42 PM
  4. FS Z Force Racing modded Ultra 150 carbs and air box
    By x2ryder in forum Kawasaki Classifieds
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-20-2011, 08:26 AM
  5. Ultra 250 Oil in Air Box Drain Tube
    By PRFCNST in forum Kawasaki Open Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-31-2007, 06:05 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •