Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

hi, new here(what can increase compression?)

i am new here . i am just wanting advice i have a 2000 seadoo gs 718cc 2 stroke and my compression readings are 115 in both cylinders. i know their low i was jw if perhaps there is anything i can do to ti besides a top end or motor rebuild to increase compression. im new at workin on these so please bare with me (i dont think it matters but im using a 0-300 psi gauge that i am renting from a parts store(autozone)
    thanks cody
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	front cylinder seadoo.jpg 
Views:	31 
Size:	11.6 KB 
ID:	307788   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rear cylinder seadoo.jpg 
Views:	29 
Size:	7.0 KB 
ID:	307789  

+1
    All guages read different #'s.
    Atleast your cylinders are equal.

Does it crank and run?

yes, however ive had a slight lean condition. but will start and run on trailer havent lake tested it because i plan on rebuilding carbs, new selector switch,and fuel lines ( i have grey lines)
    - cody

+1
    Welcome aboard the hulk.

Run it in the lake after the Carbs are rebuilt.
    You might be able to get another season out of the motor before rebuild.
    Even compression is a good 1 st step.

okay thanks. would a fresh top end do the trick instead of rebuilding the motor or? also how much do you think a motor rebuild or a top end would cost if i took ti in to be done?
    Last edited by ford man; 07-23-2013 at 10:55 PM.

ill also add that i took these compression readings the other day but went out today to do another check of them and the i got one beep after hitting the starter (dead battery could the battery have possibly been low when taking the readings? if so how much would it affect the outcome of the compression and how long should i charge the battery before running another compression test?

+1