Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

2006 RXP suddenly stop hitting top speed, low battery, please help!

Hi all first off I just wanted to say I'm a complete newbie with boating and whatnot but this site has provided excellent information! Anyhow, we recently picked up 2 2006 RXP 215's one had 48 hours the other 54 in excellent condition. We test drove them and picked them up weeks later. The first thing we did was change those ceramic washers of course ourselves with the help of this site.

So here's my problem. We've been on the lake 3 days this week and the skis have been great except for my mother sucking up a rock on the first day so we had to get that fixed, there was a rock wedged into the impeller not much damage according to the mechanic. So today we were out riding and the ski I was on suddenly died out on me. I tried starting it up and it would click but no go so I had my sister tow me in with the other ski. However as she was towing me I tried starting it up again and finally it started but I couldn't pick up speed and it said "low 12volt" or something like that on the dash so I figured ok it's probably just the battery. Turns out the positive and negative terminals were loose so we tightened them with a ratchet. Turned it on and it was good to go my godfather took it out and noticed it wasn't going as fast as the other ski. I took it out and the fastest I was able to hit was maybe 53 and could only get up to about 6300 rpms.