Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Virage I 800 cylinder scored/ no compression after 4 hours of use?

Hey Guys,

Let me first start off by saying I am new to Jet Skis but and this forum. So anyways here is my story. I got a 2002 Virage I 800 off of a trade and it had no compression in the rear cylinder (closest to the back of the ski) and I knew this going into the trade. So I took the cylinder off and found that the rear cylinder was horribly scored (small sliver of piston was off). So the trader's back story is that the motor was completely gone through about 4-5 hours prior and was done "professionally". So then after it was rebuilt he wanted to sell it and let a couple he knew borrow it for a weekend and "test" it out. They came back with only 4 hours on it and they said it all of a sudden stop running. He did a compression check and saw it was low so he just put the ski in the garage and left it there. A year later I come in to the picture and get this on a trade. All I know about this ski is what he told me. So I have the cylinders at the machine shop to get bored and new pistons. The rods feel tight and spins smoothly. My question is what could be the possible cause of the failure? One of the seals in the lower end be bad causing that side to lean out? Bent rod? etc. Or possibly be a problem with the injector? I have never dealt with a water cooled direct injected motor before, I am an old school snowmobile guy lol.

At the moment I just plan on putting the new top end and ride it and hope for the best. If anyone has any tribal knowledge and this has happened to them please let me know of what you discovered.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Is there any sign that the cylinder scoring or piston damage was the result of metal debris from a failing crank bearing? If a bottom end bearing is failing then the metal bits can travel up into the upper cylinder and do damage. Sometimes a bad bearing will not feel 'tight' or loose.