Water in hull, normal?

Hi folks

i am new to pwc's. quick question. When riding my 2004 virage I get water in the hull. About .5 - 1.0 inch at the deepest part of the hull. Is this normal? When seated at the dock or even idling at the dock the is no water.

Newman Lake, WA
    Welcome to Green Hulk!

Did you in some way remove the water... to know that more water is getting in? Do you have a working bilge pump on the Virage?

There are siphon hoses that work off pump pressures (suction) that should be laying in the rear low points of the hull. These large OD clear hoses (1 or 2) will have a plastic 90 degree elbow in them that has a tiny hole in it. Make sure that tiny hole is clear and the end of the hose screen pickup is clear also and that the mid point of the hose (with elbow) is secured up high in the hull. If you can blow through them... then they should be clear... and will be sucking when the engine/jet pump is running (in the water).

As for where the water is coming. Check your clamps on the water hoses... supply and return... for leaks. Also check the thru-hull seal/bearing carrier (point where driveshaft goes thru hull out to the jetpump). These are common leak points. They should be full of grease... via grease zerk. But as the seals wear they do leak. When leaking bad enough... you can see it seep and drip into the hull as the ski sits in the water.

Hi ripcuda,

Thanks for the relpy!

Yes I bail out water at the end of each weekend.....again only an inch or so after riding it off and on throughout the weekend. Could be it is just coming in through riding.

I have a bilge but it isn't working.

These hoses you mention for siphoning....what do they do? Bring water to the intake, or are they part of the pump system to remove water?

I will run it and look inside for any water dripping in this weekend (if I can get it to start)

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    near Toronto, Canada