Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

slt 750 first ski! newbie!

Hi guys. Just purchased a 95 slt750. Bike has 60 hours. Never been on water yet with me. Engine smokes well, alot to me, how much is normal? Starts fast and does not miss. Compression is 120-126 on all cylinders. I am an auto mechanic but never wrenched on anything other than motorcycles. This is my first ski but i own a bowrider so not new to water. How fast is this thing? Any info please! i have had dirt bikes that do not smoke this much. i have dry started without water because my local dealer said it would not hurt as long as not idled that long. these things look very simple are they?

+1
    Hi Chevelle WELCOME to the Green Hulk Forums!!!

The 750 is a pretty good machine but you should check with a Polaris dealer and see if some important updates were ever performed on the ski. If they have not been done, I'd try to get them done before it hit the water.
    All they need is your VIN number and they can verify the updates.
    I'd certainly run the boat on the trailer (while strapped down) at the ramp and check for leaks before going for a ride. Just make sure the pump is in the water enough to draw water into the system.
    Perform a plug chop, the fuel pump on that particular model is a VERY weak spot and runs a cylinder destructivly lean. You'll probably need an updated pump, check out the tech section for some tips.
    How about some photo's of your ride??

Dude my ride is stock. I only give $850 at a salvage auction. Bike is 1 owner. no damage. only damage is trailor which i have another. I am a custom airbrusher so it will not be stock long. I was thing about going to premix and a new pump. any suggestions?

+1
    Two options on the pump.