Should i pull the trigger

I have the chance to buy a 99 xlt 1200 & a 97 gp1200 on a mint shorelandr for 3000, the problem is that th xl's #3 cylinder is toast. The gp runs great & has 96 hrs on the clock & has at least a Riva stage 1 kit on it. I had very limited time to check the ski's out on Fri. I heard the gp run, but the dealer was getting ready to close for the day & they are a boat dealer that took them in on trade & don't really deal in ski's, so they nothing about them, I am having them pull a compression test on the GP today. So I guess the question is...is this a good deal, it seems to bee from the prices I am seeing. I do all of my own mechanic work so a piston & sleeve won't be a problem & I should be able to get th XL back on the water pretty cheaply as long as there is not extensive damage. I am new to ski's, so I was wondering if you guys could help me out with info on these two models & what to watch for, but from what I have read here they seem to be good reliable ski's, but your input would be greatly appreciated! Should I pull the trigger? It seems to me that I am pretty much getting a ski for free at this price! Thanks in advance for your input!

+1
    Prices for used skis are location dependent. Here in Florida, used skis are everywhere and prices are low. Where my sister lives (Columbia, SC) prices are much higher. 50% higher or more!

I regularly see supposedly good running '97 GP1200s on craigslist for $1700-2000. A non-running '99 XLT1200 wouldn't be worth all that much so even at $3000, that's not something that I'd jump on. Like I said, here that isn't a great deal but maybe it is where you live. You didn't say where you are.