Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    hbernier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    101
    +1
    1

    No RPM meter, is there a way to retrofit one?

    Hi,
    My 93 SL 650 PWC does not have a MFD unit. I'm using a GPS for speed and distance display. Is there a way to installed a RPM meter on that PWC that would be used mainly for diagnose purpose?
    Thanks


  2. #2
    BlueFishCrisis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Medina, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    4,988
    +1
    140
    Polaris did have a tach available for the skis (i think i remember one); they pop up from time to time on ebay. It would mount similar to this, but this link is fuel and speedo http://www.ebay.com/itm/93-1993-POLARIS-SL-750-SL750-JETSKI-JET-SKI-SPEEDOMETER-TACH-RPM-MPH-GAUGES-DASH-/221262639184?pt=Personal_Watercraft_Parts&hash=ite m338447f050&vxp=mtr

  3. #3
    She likes the bike. But the ski gets her wet!!!! xlint89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Cleveland OH
    Posts
    17,328
    +1
    29
    Yeah, I've had a couple of them. It's an analog tachometer. They do come up sometimes. Maybe a Tiny Tach will work for you?

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Tiny-Tach-TT...item3cd4323ba1

  4. #4
    Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    near Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    36,575
    +1
    1,272
    Do you want the full MFD display capability? There is a round version of the MFD, sometimes available for a not-crazy price.

    The round MFD can be installed as a retrofit, just drill a mounting hole.

    You can wire up only the stuff you care about, as each function has a separate wire from the electrical box. Fuel level, oil level, RPM, battery voltage, speedometer. It can all be retrofitted.

  5. #5
    hbernier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    101
    +1
    1
    Hi,
    Interesting!
    Where can I get the round MFD?
    Thanks

  6. #6
    hbernier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    101
    +1
    1
    Hi,
    I supposed it would be trickier to install, but I'll check into it.
    Thanks

  7. #7
    Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    near Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    36,575
    +1
    1,272
    Quote Originally Posted by hbernier View Post
    Hi,
    I supposed it would be trickier to install, but I'll check into it.
    Thanks
    The easiest way is to buy an entire used MFD wire harness, or even an entire used electrical box with complete wiring, from a Polaris Fuji model that had the 8-pin MFD as stock.

    That way you not only will have the harness wires for the display, but also the electrical box internal terminal board and can see how it was all wired in.

  8. #8
    hbernier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    101
    +1
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by xlint89 View Post
    Yeah, I've had a couple of them. It's an analog tachometer. They do come up sometimes. Maybe a Tiny Tach will work for you?

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Tiny-Tach-TT...item3cd4323ba1
    Interesting solution! It seems appropriate for my DIY skill level. The device can be adjusted from 1 spark per 2 revolutions to 8 sparks per revolution. I guessed that for the SL 650, the setting would be 1 spark per revolution. Am I right?
    Thanks again.

  9. #9
    hbernier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    101
    +1
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by K447 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by hbernier View Post
    Hi,
    I supposed it would be trickier to install, but I'll check into it.
    Thanks
    The easiest way is to buy an entire used MFD wire harness, or even an entire used electrical box with complete wiring, from a Polaris Fuji model that had the 8-pin MFD as stock.

    That way you not only will have the harness wires for the display, but also the electrical box internal terminal board and can see how it was all wired in.
    I supposed I would also need the sensors for fuel and oil level, pitot tube, etc. How is the RPM measured?
    Thanks again.

  10. #10
    hbernier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    101
    +1
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by BlueFishCrisis View Post
    Polaris did have a tach available for the skis (i think i remember one); they pop up from time to time on ebay. It would mount similar to this, but this link is fuel and speedo http://www.ebay.com/itm/93-1993-POLARIS-SL-750-SL750-JETSKI-JET-SKI-SPEEDOMETER-TACH-RPM-MPH-GAUGES-DASH-/221262639184?pt=Personal_Watercraft_Parts&hash=ite m338447f050&vxp=mtr
    I'll check that.
    Thanks

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Is there a way to activate "limp" mode (e.g. a jumper wire) to limit rpm?
    By bschinstock in forum Polaris Open Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-07-2011, 07:15 PM
  2. Is there a way to look up what year/model a part is for by SeaDoo Part# ?
    By boostaholic in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-03-2008, 11:27 PM
  3. Is there any way to test a stator GP1200
    By Justin GP1200 in forum Yamaha Old School Skis
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-02-2008, 08:33 AM
  4. Is there any way to test a stator GP1200
    By Justin GP1200 in forum Yamaha How To & FAQs
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-25-2008, 09:17 PM
  5. Is there a way to view hours on a engineless ski?
    By Jolly Roger in forum Yamaha How To & FAQs
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-14-2007, 08:40 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •