Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    +1

ultra 300x - does anyone know how can engine oil get into an intercooler?

Hey Kawasaki pro's. Newbie here.... i have a 2012 ultra 300x that is a ROCKET. brand new...but mysteriously a friend was riding and it blew out blue smoke. took it into shop only to find oil had someone made it into the intercooler system. Has anyone experienced this? Machine was not flipped upside down AND oil level of unit was low prior to using that day.

shop cleaned it out and now headed back to the lake...hoping it lose's its "cough" and all back to normal.

+1
    the crankcase breather system vents to the catchcan then to the air intake, this along with fogging the s/c intruduces over time a fine mist of oil to the air intake system that eventually needs cleaning. all normal and part of regular servicing of your ski. it actually pro longs the life of your s/c and is regarded as a good thing.

Take the time to smile sirbreaksalot's Avatar
    +1
    All normal , you will find it reduces as the engine settles in aswell

+1
    thanks guys. It was a lot of oil that was taken out of the s/c and intercooler, almost 2qts. It was cleaned out and smoked just a bit, but compression is excellent and it ran great last weekend.

we do love this machine. our season is short tho, only another month to play.

Banned User
    +1
    Quote Originally Posted by alaskamusicman View Post
    It was a lot of oil that was taken out of the s/c and intercooler, almost 2qts.
    Wow, that's alot (too much)

One of the main culprits is the stock "separator" which lacks baffling and dumps gas diluted blow-by back to the sump. I run an aftermarket (true) catch can with baffles and a reservoir that I drain manually after every ride (plus I only fog for long term storage) and I have ZERO oil in my IC - I just pulled it a couple of weekends ago and it's spotless inside