Question New owner, where to ride in VA/MD?

Hey guys,

I've been riding my buddy's STX-15's for a few years at Ocean City, and finally decided I wanted to go find my own ride, and try places other than OC. Lake Anna, OBX, VA Beach, all these places are open to me now. I tried renting once, and that was just no fun. They limited the top speed and the area that I was allowed to go. Picked up a 2001 GPR-800, and 2006 SeaDoo Wake Edition, and I'm just about ready to start riding for the tail-end of the season.

My problem is that my OC buddy has always known where the cool places to go are, where the public docks are, which bars/restaurants are boat accessible, etc. And it's all been in Ocean City. I'm new to boats in general, so I'm hoping you guys can help me figure out how things work, cause I don't (yet) know anyone else with boats in the area to ask the stupid, probably obvious questions of.

So here's the big question: How do I find public ramps, and how do I know which waters are pwc safe/friendly/fun? For instance, I know there's jet-skiing on the Occoquan, and I can get there somewhere in Woodbridge, but damned if I have any idea where I can actually launch the boats from.
    The other question is how you guys go about finding pubs and restaurants on the water that have publicly accessible docks? Is that kind of thing just obvious? What about gas stations? I love exploring, but a few landmarks to start with would be really helpful.

I'm sure these seem pretty dumb, but I'm kinda going headfirst into this, and these are the kinds of things the internet hasn't been able to answer for me.

The motorcycle groups I ride with often make custom Google maps of an area and put all the point-of-interest stuff on them. You guys do anything like that?

St. Amant, LA