Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

help repairing this crack 97 gp760

hey everyone, i have a 1997 gp760 and the other day i discovered this crack after riding, any advice on how to repair it, i pulled away some of the top layer and i noticed its cracked underneath too. Im a newbie to skis but from research i am assuming the top layer is a gelcoat and underneath is fiberglass. correct me if i am wrong please. How should i repair this? use a gel coat repair kit? a fiberglass repair kit? Both? or perhaps maybe something else? i dont care if its pretty or not.

the crack is near the front of the ski maybe 9-10 inches to the right of the gas cap

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	photo 1.jpg 
Views:	65 
Size:	68.9 KB 
ID:	309771Click image for larger version. 

Name:	photo 2.jpg 
Views:	95 
Size:	58.8 KB 
ID:	309772Click image for larger version. 

Name:	photo 3.jpg 
Views:	58 
Size:	67.1 KB 
ID:	309773Click image for larger version. 

Name:	photo 4.jpg 
Views:	103 
Size:	53.9 KB 
ID:	309774Click image for larger version. 

Name:	photo 5.jpg 
Views:	52 
Size:	63.2 KB 
ID:	309775

These skis are not Fiberglass rather they are SMC (Sheet molded compound). You would have to take that to a boat repair place...where is the crack located ? hard to tell from pics..nose, back? side? I had a nose crack that was fixed with fiberglass and marinetex....still great..Not as bad as that though. Where are you located?
    Don

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	YAMAHA GP760.jpg 
Views:	769 
Size:	69.4 KB 
ID:	309778 the crack is near the nose, i made a red circle on a picture i found from the web where the crack is located on my ski. ill try to get a picture of my ski up soon, but i am in Wilmington NC so there are a lot of boat repair shops around. i would preferably want to repair it my self but if its a must i will get it done professionally.
    Last edited by Shreedamin; 08-09-2013 at 03:28 PM.