1997 Seadoo XP- Wont Start

I'm fairly new to PWCs so bear with me... A friend of mine has a 97 seadoo xp that is currently out of service, he said if i can fix it i can have it. When I plug in the DESS kill switch i do not get 2 beeps. i actually dont hear any. but when i try to start it i can see the gauges move so i know i am getting a little power. the engine makes a small clunking noise when i do hit the electric start button. it has gas and a new battery that is well maintained via trickle charger. The suggestions ive had were the relay switch (which i thought you would here a clicking noise if thats what it is) or the ground may need to be replaced. By the way about three months ago we started it via jump start. thanks ahead of time...

+1