Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

04 stx15f stalling

So I bought my 04 stx15f at 45 hours, was only driven about 5 hours per season. It ran fine when I started riding it this season. I went out on the lake during a wind storm with six foot waves and noticed after an hour it was idling rough and hesitating when I would give it gas. I brought it back in and thought it just didn't like the fact I was riding it hard. The next few times out it would hesitate when giving it gas after coming out of a no wake zone but would drive fine when I was full throttle. Now I'm at the point where it only idols fine but as soon as I give it gas it hesitates, hit 7k rpm for a few seconds, stumbles, and then idols rough and sometimes will stall. Out of the water while flushing it, it seems like nothing is wrong with the ski. So I what I've done so far is checked the diagnostics and no codes were found as well as checked the TPS voltage and it checked out fine. Spark plugs looked to be fine. I put ethanol treatment in the tank as well as am now only putting in non ethanol 91 octane fuel. Where should I go from here? I was thinking easy to hard.... Check battery voltage(I don't know how old it is), change plugs, fuel filter, then fuel pump? Any help is greatly appreciated!

+1
    Change the spark plugs. It doesn't matter how they look or that you just changed them last season. Change them...and use anti seize & a torque wrench.
    After that, Sean has a ton of info for ya. http://www.greenhulk.net/forums/showthread.php?t=186939

Thanks for the info! I should be changing them this afternoon, the battery checked out fine.

My name is Sean and I am addicted to STXs smokeysevin's Avatar
    +1
    Id guess plugs, fuel pressure or an exhaust leak.

Sean