Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: FX SHO problem

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Allen Park, MI
    Posts
    54

    FX SHO problem

    I have a 08 SHO Cruiser and over the weekend the speedo and lake temp sensor both quit working. I know they are both located on the same sensor plate on the ride plate. Has anyone experienced this and know what the possible problem could be and where the problem most likely will be before i start searching to follow the wires?


  2. #2
    powerstroke specialist mikegp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2,529
    +1
    190
    keep in mind , the cruiser is the only one that has compass, the speedo connects directly into the compass box located it on the top part of the hull ,on the left side near the display. then from that box goes into the display. check all the connections behind the front compartment. access it from the front.
    Last edited by mikegp; 08-13-2013 at 01:58 PM. Reason: correction

  3. #3
    powerstroke specialist mikegp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2,529
    +1
    190
    see if your compass works.
    Last edited by mikegp; 08-13-2013 at 01:57 PM. Reason: correction

  4. #4
    tuningforks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Oconomowoc WI
    Posts
    199
    +1
    21
    Mike, I didn't know the Cruiser had a GPS. I know the speedo is still way off. When the speedo shows 79 mph I'm going 68 mph on my phones GPS.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Knoxville (Corryton), TN
    Posts
    204
    +1
    10
    It does not have GPS,same Mechanical wheel as all of the other models. It is completely useless.

  6. +1 by:


  7. #6

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Allen Park, MI
    Posts
    54
    I don't recall seeing a GPS on the cruiser. My speedo wheel while is not accurate, is actually only a couple MPH off, so it gives me a good basis. So you think it's going to be the connection going to the display? even though it is on two seperate displays?

  8. #7
    powerstroke specialist mikegp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2,529
    +1
    190
    well let me be more specific before i get decapitated here .
    its not a gps , its a compass. sorry for the confusion , my mistake.
    but still , the speedo connects into this box , from there into the display.
    YES I KNOW, ITS A COMPASS .LOL.

  9. #8
    tuningforks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Oconomowoc WI
    Posts
    199
    +1
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by mikegp View Post
    well let me be more specific before i get decapitated here .
    its not a gps , its a compass. sorry for the confusion , my mistake.
    but still , the speedo connects into this box , from there into the display.
    YES I KNOW, ITS A COMPASS .LOL.
    No worries my friend. I had no idea if it did or not. I just knew the speedo was still way off.

  10. #9

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Allen Park, MI
    Posts
    54
    lol It's all good. I thought maybe you meant a compass. I actually found the problem after checking the connections and started tracing the wire. There is a cutout at the bottom of the bulkhead in the rear of the ski where the ebox is mounted. Apparently, the there is not enough protection to prevent rubbing of the wires and the cable for the speedo and temp sensor rubbed through to bare wire. I didn't have time to cut it and look further, but I am hoping it is one single wire and not a bundle of individual wires so that I can splice it back together and heatshrink it and then protect it from rubbing again.

  11. #10
    I have no temp gauge and no gps on my 08 SHO, the speedo is ran with a little pinwheel on the ride plate. Never heard of a temp gauge tho Is this a factory option ?

    What you will need to do is find the through hull fitting where the wire comes from and follow it with your hand all the way to the bow, it should be held in place with some zip ties. You most likely have a break or burnt out wire, find it and repair. Usually a 2 wire maybe 3 or 4 and you'll be good to go. Tis reminds me that I need to do it on a few of my other skis too. I don't think the SHO speedo ever worked, ive never cared enough to fix it tho.

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/kizwime36w...%20%281%29.pdf


    This is a link to the FActory service manual, download it and find where it's location so it'll be easier when you are in the ski

  12. +1 by:


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. fx sho problem
    By syk03t in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 02-11-2015, 05:13 AM
  2. Fx sho problem
    By dixon0001 in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 02-02-2014, 01:01 PM
  3. 2012 fx sho problem
    By syk03t in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-29-2013, 01:31 AM
  4. problem with my 2008 fx sho at full throttle
    By wave15stx in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-20-2009, 06:39 PM
  5. 2008 Fx Sho Problems?
    By DOERUN in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 08-10-2008, 11:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •