Thread: Waterbox help

+1

Waterbox help

Hey, quick question on a waterbox, id like to remove mine from the boat. 2 stroke 500. My question is, what am i risking by doing this? Ive been told a few things. one, that its required for backpressure, and another, that its there purely to muffle the exhaust and limit water flow into the motor. i wold switch to a straight through pipe if possible, or aftermarket water box should it be required. Im new to 2 strokes in PWC's so i dont have a clue on this one.

Thanks!
    Nate

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Why remove the waterbox?

2-stroke watercraft are not like cars, the exhaust affects the engine differently, and the sound levels without a waterbox are going to be rather loud.

If you want more engine power, the waterbox is generally not the first place to start looking.

I have ridden watercraft with no exhaust muffling, and the noise got old after the first few minutes. After an hour my ears were ringing and it was no fun. It was also no faster than before the exhaust was modified

In many cases the most cost effective way to significantly increase performance is buy a different machine with a larger stock engine.

I am not familiar with your particular engine, but the usual route to boosting power on a given 2-stroke engine is to port the cylinders for more top end power. Doing this well takes experience and expertise. There are multiple well regarded shops that know how to do this properly.

Often a carburetor upgrade goes along with the cylinder porting.

Compression increase using premium octane fuel, and engine model specific tweaks are also possible.

Each time you increase engine power, the impeller must be recalibrated or pitch changed to keep the engine in the proper RPM power band and properly utilize the extra HP.

+1