Polaris slt750 completely dead

About 3 weeks ago, 96 Polaris slt750 with fuji engine was running great and then would just die while at medium speed. Restarted instantly, run fine for several minutes and die again. Brought it back to the dock and a week later tried to start it and there was no spark. Another week later picked up new agm battery. While installing new battery, it touched the black electrical box and sparked very very briefly. I put the plastic cap back on between battery and box and hit the ignition button and heard something spinning (flywheel?) but the engine was not turning at all now. I stopped, then push the ignition button again and nothing engaged, dead silence. Any clues what happened? Thanks.

+1
    Bad ground
    Bad starter bendix or sheared flywheel key
    Dead starter relay

Most important question is: Do you have a maintenance history on your ski?

Thanks loonatic. I'm going to check the wiring this weekend. I'm not a mechanic but have tinkered with motorcycles and a boat and and can typically figure things out but find this problem really unusual. My father owned them before me and did all the maintenance so I'll check with him too. Thanks again for the tips.

+1