Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

+1

PVC and catch cans...

Im adding my 4" intake and I see alot of ppl are just running a catch can with a breather. Is there a reason not to reconnect a none vented catch can back into the new 4" intake piping? My background is cars and we always add a none vented catch can and tie that pack into the intake as positive crankcase ventilation tends to make more power and keeps oily residue out of the engine bay when under boost.

+1
    You are using a catch can to trap oil and moisture from getting onto the inter-cooler fins. By not routing it back to the intake you alleviate that all together.

+1
    But you loose the benefit of positive crankcase ventilation. Unless someone points to a reason not to Im going to build mine with it tying back to the intake. My baffled catch cans work well at trapping the oil so I'm not concerned with that.

I won't chime in on the crankcase ventilation issue, but I'm curious to know what baffle you're using? I use a stainless Scotch Brite pad.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by turbotank View Post
    Im adding my 4" intake and I see alot of ppl are just running a catch can with a breather. Is there a reason not to reconnect a none vented catch can back into the new 4" intake piping? My background is cars and we always add a none vented catch can and tie that pack into the intake as positive crankcase ventilation tends to make more power and keeps oily residue out of the engine bay when under boost.