‘96 Seadoo GSX (787) Intermitting Speed/RPM Issues

I have a ’96 Seadoo GSX that runs great except; it won’t always reach top speed/rpm. To reach top speed/RPM is sometimes tough.

Here’s what I have to do to reach maximum speed/RPM.
    1. Simply pin-it and it reaches 6,000+ RPMs (this works less than ~ 20% of the time)
    2. Yo-yo the throttle a few times and it reaches 6,000+ RPMs (this works about 20-30% of the time)
    3. (or) Jump a wake or bounce hard while pinning the throttle (this works EVERY time 100%)
    * Otherwise it hovers around 4,800 RPM and acts like it wants to go faster.

Here’s the stuff you need to know.
    I bought the craft with a blown engine. I’m a retired aircraft mechanic. I rebuilt it but let it sit in the garage a few years before I gained more interest.
    · Motor is a fresh rebuild (less than 8-10 hours) punched1st over. New crank, bores, pistons, rings & bearings. Crankcase pressure tested.
    · New Fuel lines replaced & Fuel Petcock cleaned @ 0 hours + carb refurbish
    · Fresh gas (drained the tank and refilled)
    · New plugs (changed several times)
    · Compression (MAG 155 psi, PTO 154 psi)
    · Completely rebuilt both carbs (soaked for several hours in Berryman Chem-Dip and blow out with air and cleared with wire. All brand new gaskets & rubber (except needles and main – they look perfect) pop-off set.
    · Cleaned RAVE Valves (look brand new)
    · Replaced RAVE Bellows (green), gaskets and o-rings. Added zip-locs to bottom of bellows
    · New pump wear ring replaced (less than 4 hours)

I’m starting to think that it’s the regulator on the waterboxor a waterbox baffle issue. I’m better at Polaris PWC issues than Seadoo.

Help a brother out.

Last edited by skooter; 08-27-2013 at 01:50 PM.

The wet left coast.
    Does it have the correct impeller ?