"New" 1996 Seadoo SPX

Hi all,

I just picked up my first pwc. Took it out for a couple hours and its a blast. It seems to have not been ridden much by the previous owners. The only thing is the gel-coat is worn through the green paint in the very front center of the underside from beachings. Doesn't seem like a huge issue.

As I have no experience with these things, I have a few questions. Where should I start for maintenance? The intake grate, impeller, and everything under there looks pretty good and the guy said the wear ring was just replaced. I understand the impeller or something there has a place to put a lubricant? I looked around and couldn't see where it would go.

Also, whats the best 2-stroke oil for these; should I just get the Sea-doo XPS oil?

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1186693_10151786768763941_421773837_n.jpg 
Views:	315 
Size:	93.6 KB 
ID:	312526

If i knew,...I wouldn't ask sea-one's Avatar
    Check For gray Fuel Lines with the name TEMPO . ifthey are on the ski, get them off before you ride it again, and to me safe,...clean the carbs if the gray lines are on it. Change the jet pump oil in the stinger cone. I bought one of these new in 96 for my wife, loved the color and graphics and ran good.

And how about what 2-stroke oil to use?

Okkkkkkk...... New question...
    Any idea what these went to? The plugs just sit near the fuel tanks. The wire comes to the back and is connected to the VTS box.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20130904_172716.jpg 
Views:	141 
Size:	44.2 KB 
ID:	312654

Mackay Qld Australia
    If it running as it should and everything working as it should - don't fiddle with anything like those plugs

Simply do the whole maintenance thing with fuel lines etc as suggested

Quote Originally Posted by puncher View Post
    And how about what 2-stroke oil to use?
    i think any api-tc rated oil should be fine, seadoo oil is good, there is quicksilver pwc available at select walmart's and it's $28 per gallon