Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    +1

2001 Yamaha 1200 SUV Cavitation

Okay, I'm a newbie to this forum, I'm sure this may have been talked about, but I can't find anything specific.

I have a Freshwater 2001 SUV 1200, I'm third owner.
    The second owner told me it had a cavitation issue and he just wiggled the back end and it came out of it. The second owner also told me he took it to a shop and they flat out told him that it needed a new impellor. So he had them replace it ($498.00) and then they tested it in a sand pit lake, and proclaimed it "Fixed, cavitation free". The second owner did not ride it after the shop "Fixed it", so he took their word for it.

Well, first day I had it I found out it was not fixed....
    So in doing research to cure the problem, I have come up with the following options...
    1. New impellor (supposedly this has been done)
    2. New Impellor housing
    3. New intake grate (did this, helped a little, but cavitation still present under a load.)
    4. New Anti-cavitation cone (purchased one, but since changing the grate didn't make diff, I'm skeptical)
    5. Seal the Pump shoe (can I just use heavy duty silicone, or should I use epoxy, like JB weld)
    6. ???????

So from what I have been reading those are pretty much my best options. I would like to explore the "cheaper" options first like sealing the pump shoe.
    Next question, what kind of clearance should there be between the impellor and the housing. The impellor looks really great, I cannot imagine the issue is the impellor which leads me to think the shop changed the impellor, but left the stock housing or they put on the wrong size impellor?
    So any thoughts, suggestions ideas would be appreciated.

This is my first "watercraft"...I'm a gearhead, but usually my toys have wheels....

I'm also a watercraft newbie, but this site helps a lot.